Hotel Photos
Hotel Photos Hotel Photos Hotel Photos Hotel Photos
  • Hotel Summary

    Summary Page

  • Rooms & Prices

    Rooms From £25.00

    Book Online Now

  • Special Offers

    View Our current Special Offers

  • Customer Reviews

    View Our Customer Reviews

  • Local Attractions

    Local Attractions near Us

Welcome to Sunny Lodge Guest House

Address: 85 Cheriton Road, Folkestone, CT20 2QL

Telephone: 01303 251498

Hotel Description

Open all year round for your convenience, Sunny Lodge is an interesting Victorian Guest House surrounded by a lovely garden, once owned by the Earl of Radnor. It is in an ideal spot close to town centre amenities and shops with travel facilities such as the Le Shuttle and the Seacat for the continent both within reach within minutes. The train station is a few minutes walk for travel within the UK. Sunny Lodge is south facing, living up to its name with the warm sun shining into the rooms. Sunny Lodge is noted for its high standards and recommended. Many visitors return year after year. From the moment you arrive Linda will offer you a warm and friendly welcome and aim to satisfy your needs where possible.

Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Conference Facilities
  • Parking Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi Available
  • Vegetarian Food Available
  • Walking Holidays

Rooms & Online Bookings - Sunny Lodge Guest House

Special Offers - Sunny Lodge Guest House

Hotel Reviews - Sunny Lodge Guest House

Very good location, spacy clean rooms. Very good value

Rainer Metellus - 27th Jan, 2020
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the spacious room which we upgraded from the single you had booked at no extra cost. We are really happy that you found us good value for money. We hope to see you again in the future.

Michael
Friendly , helpful owners .

Excellent full English breakfast.

Michael Cope - 8th Dec, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future.

Wonderful Host
We booked a night in Folkstone only so we could euro train the following morning. We were greeted at Sunny lodge with a smile and very warm welcome. We were guided to somewhere to shop and dine as we arrived late. We were made to feel equally welcome at the pub we went to called the Pullman. Wonderful service and a great meal. We would recommend Sunnylodge and the Pullman

Sandra Booth - 5th Dec, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so much for your great review it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the local hospitality. We hope to see you again in the future.

Jubbly
Just Jubbly! Impeccably clean, comfortable and peaceful. Helpful and friendly proprietors.

Lisa Cobb - 28th Oct, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your great review. We would love to see you again in the future.

It\'s A Great Stay When Traveling Though Channeltunnel
We stayed here for 1 night, fine continental breakfast (they have also English breakfast) in a 5person ensuite room. Shower was real nice after a day of traveling. Beds were OK. Lovely hosts/owners. Did everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Upstairs neighbours were bit loud but had my earplugs. Overal a nice stay for a reasonable price. Eat at Wetherspoon that evening. Great food for a great price. :)

Linda van den Boogaart - 15th Oct, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for your lovely review it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future.

..
nice, clean and very friendly place to stay

Iris Harenburg - 27th Sep, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the future.

Very Happy!
Wonderful guest house, comfortable and very close to town. Very friendly owners. Loved our chat, sorry didn't get to say goodbye to you both. We would like to come back to Folkstone and will definately book with yourselves. Thanks again Vicki and Geoff. XX

Vicki Wilson - 16th Sep, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your lovely review. We can continue the chat when you come back next time!! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Clean And Polite
More than happy with my room, very clean.breakfast was an extra and not the best ive ever had.

very nice welcome from very polite staff/owners

Simon Green - 16th Sep, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you were happy with the room. Thank you again for your review.

Convenient B&b
Very friendly reception from the proprietor, clean & comfortable accommodation w/ en-suite shower room, easy access to Sea front. Passing through to Dover so only stayed one night. Recommendation received for dinner was good.

Mark Boorman - 14th Sep, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you again for the review.

Excellent Stay In Folkestone
We had a great two nights in Sunny Lodge. The location was very central, parking was good. The breakfast was excellent and Shelley and Michael were very friendly and informative. We would definitely stay here again if we are down this way again. Roger and Margaret Leversuch

Roger Leversuch - 13th Sep, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love you to come back and see us again in the future. Perhaps we will be able to put you in a room with a TV built in DVD player so you would be able to watch the Folkestone DVD that we discussed. Hope to see you soon.

Sunny Lodge
We could not recommend Sunny Lodge highly enough. The room was very clean and the owners extremely friendly and welcoming. An altogether pleasant stay which will not be our last.

Brenda Gordon - 8th Sep, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you had a great stay with us and really happy that it will not be the last. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Perfect Hosts In A Nice B&b
Very welcoming hosts! We loved our stay. folkstone is also very easy for a daytrip to Canterbury and even London. They are redecorating the house (you won’t notice is on your stay) and then it will be even more beautiful! Thanks for having us!

Chantal Perlee - 28th Aug, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your holiday after a bumpy start. We would love to see you again in the future.

48hrs
Not a great experience. The welcome was good but my room was like a cupboard, the bed was lumpy & very narrow. I wanted a shower on my first morning but the shower was absolutely disgusting. I was informed that it was being converted into a wet room but at least it could have been cleaned in the meantime. The breakfast was however excellent. I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel again.

Victoria Murr - 28th Aug, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
The room you was in was a single room which are not large. The bed is a standard 3ft single bed. If you book online for a double room with us it comes with an ensuite and is not a lot more money. The shower (which is for the single rooms, all other rooms are ensuite) is cleaned daily. However there are marks which we are unable to remove and as I explained to you we are changing this into a wet room. This does cost time and money but it will be done this autumn. I am sad to see that your comments \"not a great experience\" and \"wouldn\'t recommend staying at this hotel again\" as we had a really lovely chat at breakfast for at least 20 minutes where I sat down with you and you did not express this to me or words like \"disgusting\". If you had expressed this to us we could have upgraded you to a double ensuite but unfortunately, to us, you seemed happy.

Comfortable & Welcoming
Lovely one night stay at Sunny Lodge. Owners were very accommodating and friendly, going out of their way to make sure my daughter had just what she wanted for breakfast. Room was clean & breakfast was great. Thank you!

Michelle Cfas - 26th Aug, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for your kind review. Your daughter was lovely and I am glad she had what she wanted for breakfast. We would love to see you in the future and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Recommended
Friendly and welcoming hosts.

Spotless clean and well maintained.

Cosy room and comfy bed.

Alessia Pagano - 12th Aug, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We would love to see you again and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

A Friendly Welcome
Staying overnight before catching an early ferry, I was able to park just outside the property, and Mick and Shelley were very welcoming on arrival. The room met my needs exactly, and I'd happily stay again.

Stuart Bennett - 5th Aug, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Excellent Stay After Arriving From Dover
We stayed the one night with our three kids (7, 10 and 13) after arriving from Dover and traveling further the next day. The room fitted the 5 of us easily and we had our own bathroom. The owners were lovely and kind and very helpful in making the most of our short visit to Folkestone. Enjoyed a fine breakfast. We will surely return.

Richard Heideman - 31st Jul, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so much Richard for your lovely review. I am glad you felt welcome and that your stay was a good one. I am also very happy that you wish to return. We would be very happy to see you and your family again. Best wishes, Shelley

Short Stay In Folkestone
Couldn't ask for better host's

Anthony leech - 29th Jul, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you Anthony for your review. I am glad you had a good welcome and we hope to see you again in the future.

A 2 Day Break
The B&B was clean and the hosts very welcoming. Knowledgeable about the area. A Good breakfast to start the day.

Robert Russell - 22nd Jul, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We also enjoyed your company. It would be lovely to see you again in the future.

Outstanding Service
Myself and two teenage daughters stayed one night at Sunnylodge as they were attending a dance competition.

We were welcomed and treated as if we were family and the service we recieved was outstanding.

We all slept well and the beds were very comfy! The cooked breakfast was lovely and very much needed..

We look forward to returning next year.

Thank you again for looking after us.

Carol Kemp - 15th Jul, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and what talented girls you have. They won so many trophies! We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Nice Place
A friendly, comfortable stay for 2 nights. The owners are lovely, as were the rest of the staff that we met.



We stayed in the family room - ensuite .... Although the bathroom could have been bigger - the shower cubicle door couldn't be opened without the door into the bedroom beig open, but apart from that, a very pleasant stay.

Mo Chivers - 9th Jul, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for your kind review

Great Place To Stay
Lovely clean and comfortable rooms. Very friendly host and a great breakfast.

Couldn't ask for more really.

Robin Sayer - 7th Jul, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad that everything was satisfactory for you and we hope to see you again in the future. Shelley

Sunnylodge
Very friendly owners who were v helpful.Good breakfast comfortable bed.welcominf to dogs

CLARE CONNOR - 7th Jul, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your very lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and I hope that you come and stay with us again in the near future. Shelley

Nice Place, Good Location
We stayed one night at Sunny Lodge and everything was hassle free. We actually arrived several hours early,but i knocked on tbe door, to ask about the earliest check in times and, although our room was still being cleaned, we were fine to park there and were given the keys to the room in advance. We spent an hour at a park with the kids (just up the road) before our room was ready.



The room itself is clean. Being on the top floor it was hot (but it was the hottest day of the year) and we just left the window open.



Breakfast the following day was good and checking out very easy.



All in all, a hassle free stay at a good price.

Matthew Williamson - 1st Jul, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am glad everything was fine for you and we hope to see you again in the future. Shelley

Excelente Ubicaciã³n
Muy acogedor el hotel. Buen servicio. La habitación muy grande con baño limpio. A pocos metros calle de la estación de tren

Flor Maria Guevara Garcia - 18th Jun, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you in the future, either at Sunny Lodge or in Teneriffe.

A Great Stay
Booked for a long weekend and really enjoyed our stay. A great location with the rare bonus (in Folkestone) of on-site parking. Lovely, friendly hosts, a nice clean room and facilities - in fact everything you need for a great stay.

Michael Conwill - 17th Jun, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
We are really glad you had a good weekend. Thank you very much for your lovely review. Parking here on site is definitely a bonus. We hope to see you again in the future.

Fab One Night Stay!
Really friendly staff, lovely bed, and a free upgrade! Looking forward to coming to stay again :)

Courtney Smith - 13th Jun, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Hi. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the free upgrade. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for your great review.

Nice Stopover
The B&B is pleasantly situated between the local park and the seafront both not more than 5 mins walk away. Lovely room very clean and modern, comfortable bed, nice and quiet for a good nights sleep. Ensuite facilities, were clean and had a good shower. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly and made a good cooked breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Sherron Eves - 28th May, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad everything was fine for you. We hope to see you again in the future.

Lovely Hosts
The accommodation is 10mins from the Eurotunnel terminal, it couldn’t be more convenient. I was later than expected but greeted with such kindness. The room was clean & I slept soundly. Perfect stop off place & I’ll be staying again.

Paula Casarin - 26th Apr, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for your super review it is much appreciated. We hope to see you soon in the future.

Stay
Location, room, service were all excellent.

Marva Golden - 1st Apr, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you Marva for your 5/5 it is much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you later

Nice Stay
Room was very clean, breakfast very nice, very close to all amenities and a warm welcome - what more do you want?

steven gamble - 12th Mar, 2019
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for your review it is much appreciated. We hope to see you in the future

One Night Stay
The staff were lovely and breakfast was excellent. The only complaint is the mattress on the bed. It was very uncomfortable and could feel the springs in the mattress which caused a poor nights sleep.

Debra Withey - 11th Dec, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
I am glad you enjoyed yourstay. Sorry about the mattress we will look into this.

Perfect
Does exactly as you would expect. Very clean, value for money, lovely hosts.

ADAM BOOTH - 17th Nov, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your very nice review and thank you for your lovely note that I found in the morning. It was very uplifting. We hope to see you in the future.

Everything Was Fine
Sunny Lodge Guest House is a fine B&B Hotel.

Very friendly and helpful staff. The english breakfast was really good.

Andries Zorgdrager - 23rd Sep, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review and I am glad everything was ok for you. We hope to see you in the future.

A Good Nights Sleep
Got a really nice feeling about this place, didn't have that much time to spend in Folkestone but felt relaxed when leaving

Henrik Carlsson - 19th Sep, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review and I am glad your feeling for the place was nice. Perhaps you could come back for a few days and spend more time in Folkestone? You are always welcome back and it would be nice to see you again in the future.

Awesome Hotel
Thanks for a lovely stay beautiful room and breakfast

Really nice welcome and friendly staff

We will be back i promise.

jim mcewan - 17th Sep, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Hi. Thank you for your lovely review. You are welcome back anytime (you ate all your breakfast!!). See you soon.

Wonderful Experience
We had a wonderful week staying at Sunny Lodge. The welcome was warm and Michael took our bag upstairs - always a good start. The room was very nice, Shelly and Michael were the perfect hosts and were very knowledgable about the local and surrounding area. The property is very near the railway station and on the main bus routes and close to the Town and the Harbour. Breakfast was delicious cooked to perfection by Shelly, there is parking right outside - everything was good and we'll be going back.

Belinda Tilling - 10th Sep, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to see you again and lets hope that will be in the not too distant future.

Highly Recommended
Due to unforeseen circumstances we arrived very late, and had bikes which needed storing overnight. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome and looked after. Sunny lodge is very clean and tidy and great for a stopover for the Eurotunnel. Thanks very much for everything!

Jenny Woodward - 9th Sep, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
I am glad we could be of help. We always recommend guests with bikes to bring them in. We hope to see you again in the future.

Really Enjoyed Our Stay
We had a lovely stay. Mick & Shelley are a lovely couple, really friendly. The rooms were clean and breakfast was plenty. Would recommend to everyone. Thankyou for making us feel so welcome.

Frances Akinde - 23rd Aug, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your very nice review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to see you all again in the future.

Sehr Empfehlenswert
Wenn ich wieder nach Folkestone komme,werde ich bestimmt wieder hier übernachten.Ich kann jedem dieses B&B empfehlen. Gute Lage zum Channel, sehr netter Empfang, Zimmer, Bad, alles perfekt. Ausserdem sind die Leute sehr Hunde freundlich eingestellt.

Rebekka Brunner - 22nd Aug, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Single Occupancy
Clean and tidy room. Shared bathroom and toilet clean. Hosts welcoming and helpful.

Dogs allowed in room with me, which was lovely. Local park with enclosed dog run for exercising my dogs.

Only downside was being 3 floors up !

Christine Bowles - 20th Aug, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we only have two single rooms, one on the first floor and the other that you stayed in on the second floor. If you book in the future give us a call and we will try and accommodate you on the lower floor. Thank you again for the review.

Fantastic Hosts
We only had a very brief stopover for the night in order to get an early ferry from Dover - we found Mick and Shelly to be very welcoming and attentive hosts. The family room was comfortable and well equipped enabling us to get a comfortable nights sleep.

Should we ever return to the area we will definitely return to Sunny Lodge.

Mark Bellamy - 16th Aug, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your kind review. It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us anytime in the future.

A Welcome Change
Staying before my trip to France and on return home Sunny Lodge was a welcome place to begin and end my journey. Always welcoming and helpful it is an English Guest House - not a typical corporate hotel. My room was clean, tidy and well looked after. I received a warm welcome and felt valued as a customer. They even gave me space to keep my bicycle!

I have no hesitation to recommend this place.

neil garratt - 13th Aug, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your kind review and thank you for the bottle of wine! Anyone with a bicycle we make sure they are brought into the house. We hope to see you in the future.

Friendly And Welcoming
We stop over on are way to France, our room was lovely and spacious and our host made us very welcome.

Patricia Hayward - 30th Jul, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you in the future

Overnight Stay
Very nice people and very comfortable stay

Lovely breakfast

Lee Leaning - 23rd Jul, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Hi Lee. Thank you for your review. Hope to see you in the future. Shelley

Great Location
We had a very comfortable stay. Our hosts were wonderful and couldn't help enough. Securely locked our motorbike away and pointed us in the right direction for a great pub for beer and curry😊.hot breakfast and coffee were wonderful. Great value for the money... Big room and comfy bed.... Highly recommend.

marc manea - 21st Jul, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Hi. Really glad you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed your company too. Enjoy the rest of your trip and safe journey. best wishes. Shelley

Nice And Welcoming
Excellent service, social and helping.

Good situated, five minutes walk to the beach. Parking right outside for free.

Thank you!!

Carina Hart - 11th Jul, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good time. Hopefully we will see you in the future. Mick and Shelley

Very Helpfull
Very helpful and keen to please, Excellent attitude to dogs and would use again.

Lawrence Dick - 9th Jul, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Glad you enjoyed your stay. It will be nice to see you again. Best wishes, Shelley and Mick

Great
Great place, very nice people, good breakfast, good beds. Definitely the best way to go around Folkestone.

I hoped I knew this before. Have some comparison in Folkestone.

Jos van Stralen - 10th Jun, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Hi. Really glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes. Mick and Shelley

10 Out Of 10
“the host was only standing in for one week. I have to give him 10 out of 10. He was very welcoming.Nothing was too much trouble,and he was such nice person to talk to .Thank you.”

Brian - 18th May, 2018
Verified Review

Friendly And Welcoming
my family and i, including our pet Chow chow dog! stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. Its hard to find a place to stay that will allow a big dog and that are so welcoming! Mick and Shelly were really friendly and made us feel right at home!

room was very large and my children loved sleeping in the bunk bed!

it was handy to have car parking available as other guest houses in the area did not and id read this on tripadvisor which was lucky!

cooked breakfast next morning was great too! really cant praise it enough well worth the money, would definitely stay again on our next visit and recommend to a friend.

Jennifer - 2nd Feb, 2018
Verified Review

Last Min Booking
we booked this guest house for one evening so we could go to dover castle. we had a very warm welcome very friendly owners, the room was very clean warm and enough cups for everyone to have a drink and tons of towels, very quiet guest house didn't hear any traffic and enough beds for 2 adults and 3 children and a dog. breakfast was great a very cheerful welcome in the morning from the owners and the guests. it is hard to find guest homes or hotels that will accept dogs. thank you for making our stay extra special we will look forward in seeing you again soon.

will felgate - 27th May, 2013
Verified Review

Write a Review!

Attractions - Sunny Lodge Guest House

Folkestone Centre - Town Centre

Folkestone Centre - Town Centre

Distance 0.25 miles (0.4 km)
Folkestone is an elegant and traditional seaside resort, possessing clean, sandy beaches, a wide sweeping promenade. The town is largely a Victorian and Georgian creation, sculpted by the Earl of Radnor, who laid out its elegant parks, crescents and avenues, the most famous of which is ‘The Leas’ – a one mile clifftop promenade walk which offers the visitor unrivalled views of the Channel and the chance to take a ride down to the seafront on the Victorian water-powered Leas Lift. To sum up, Folkestone is a town with much to offer the visitor – windsurfing, sailing, fishing, cycling, swimming, bowling, golf, horse racing at Folkestone Racecourse, excellent shopping on the cobbled Old High Street.

Eurotunnel Shuttle - Railway Station

Eurotunnel Shuttle - Railway Station

Distance 1.71 miles (2.73 km)
Eurotunnel Shuttle (also known as Le Shuttle) is a shuttle service between Calais/Coquelles in France and Folkestone in the UK. It transfers road vehicles through the Channel Tunnel, with passenger vehicles being carried in closed wagons. Roughly half of the train carries cars and other relativly low vehicles in a double-deck system, with the first and last two carriages of the section containing the off-ramps. Coaches, buses and other high vehicles travel in the single deck section, whilst in times of overcrowding cars can also use this area. Budget cuts have meant that Eurotunnel occasionaly run trains at 'half full' - closing the top deck to minimise cost.

Eurotunnel Shuttle - Railway Station

Eurotunnel Shuttle - Railway Station

Distance 2.3 miles (3.68 km)
Eurotunnel Shuttle (also known as Le Shuttle) is a shuttle service between Calais/Coquelles in France and Folkestone in the UK. It transfers road vehicles through the Channel Tunnel, with passenger vehicles being carried in closed wagons. Roughly half of the train carries cars and other relativly low vehicles in a double-deck system, with the first and last two carriages of the section containing the off-ramps. Coaches, buses and other high vehicles travel in the single deck section, whilst in times of overcrowding cars can also use this area. Budget cuts have meant that Eurotunnel occasionaly run trains at 'half full' - closing the top deck to minimise cost.